Activities

The Harpenden Society exists for everyone who appreciates the richness of life in Harpenden and wants to ensure that the town remains a green and pleasant place in which to live, work or visit.

The Society was founded in 1930, is a registered Charity (278154), and currently has over 1,000 members, and a very active executive committee and a number of subcommittees or task groups to deal with particular activities or campaigns.

The Society has nine task groups, each led by a convener on the committee who is supported by a network of Society members with interest and expertise in the respective issues. These are:

Community Safety: e.g. police matters, neighbourhood watch, fire service

Environmental Issues: e.g. aircraft noise, pollution issues, recycling, refuse collection, etc. 

Arts, Leisure & Entertainment

Sports

Transport: e.g. trains, buses, taxis, traffic control, parking

Health and Social Welfare: e.g. general practices, hospitals, public health matters, day and residential care, etc.

Education: e.g. schools, leisure and sports facilities, access to footpaths and countryside, civic halls, entertainment & arts

Built Environment: e.g. planning, housing, design and layout of buildings, street furniture, civic gardens, road maintenance, etc.

Economic Activity: e.g. shopping and commercial services, state of the High Street, companies located in Harpenden, business and work opportunities.

Working Group Convenors    
Arts, Leisure & Entertainment Alan Jackson arts@harpendensociety.org
Community Safety Paul Gardiner publicorder@harpendensociety.org
Environmental Issues John Davis environment@harpendensociety.org
Transport Alan Falconer transport@harpendensociety.org
Health John Harris health@harpendensociety.org
Education and Leisure Vacancy education@harpendensociety.org
Built Environment Mike & Pauline Waddilove planning@harpendensociety.org
Economic Activity Ron Taylor economics@harpendensociety.org
Sports Geoff Newman sports@harpendensociety.org